Friday, 26 August 2016

Here is How to Stop Whatsapp from Sharing Your Data with Facebook


Yesterday we reported that WhatsApp will be sharing your phone number with Facebook. This was an alarming situation for those of us who value our privacy.

The Effect of Whatsapp-Facebook Data Sharing on You


Facebook will be able to match you with your friends that you have exchanged phone numbers with but not yet added in your friends at Facebook. This was also done to give businesses the option to contact you directly. Examples include banks, which can alert you if they detect fraudulent activity. Airlines can also alert you about your flight being delayed, etc.

There is also a downside to this as you will be receiving advertisements on WhatsApp. The service had remained ad-free ever since it was launched which is part of the reason why people are readily using it. If it indeed does start advertising on the app, it won’t be taken kindly by the users.

However there is a workaround to avoid this situation altogether if you don’t want anything to do with these “new and improved” features. There are two ways to stop Facebook from getting your information via WhatsApp.

How to Opt Out of Whatsapp-Facebook Data Sharing

If you update Whatsapp recently and turn it on next time, you’ll receive the updated terms and conditions message:


Tap on “Read” then scroll down through the terms and conditions page.

You need to uncheck the part that says “Share my WhatsApp account information with Facebook to improve my Facebook ads and products experiences”. This can let you opt out of the Whatsapp-Facebook data sharing situation.

Although it says that chats and other info won’t be shared with Facebook, its only a matter of time before they update their terms and conditions again to openly do that too.

What if I’ve Already Agreed to the New Terms and Conditions?

If you have, however, already accepted the terms and conditions earlier, this second method is for you.

Tap the three white dots on the top right inside the app and head to settings. Tap on Account and uncheck “Share my account info”.

There is a limit to this as well, users who have accepted the terms and conditions have the option to opt-out of the info sharing, but they can only do so within 30 days of accepting the new terms and conditions.


Image Credits: Motherboard

No comments:
Write comments